Holberg Prize News

2020 Holberg Prize and Nils Klim Prize Laureates Announced

The 2020 Holberg Prize is awarded to British-Canadian scholar Griselda Pollock for her contributions to feminist art history and cultural studies. The Nils Klim Prize is awarded to Danish theologian Frederik Poulsen for his research on The Old Testament.

The 2020 Laureates Have Been Selected

The Holberg Board met in Bergen on 4 February for their annual winter meeting. Here they made the final decision on who will be named the 2020 Holberg Prize and Nils Klim Prize laureates. The names will be announced on 5 March.

Watch the 2019 Holberg Debate with Slavoj Žižek and Tyler Cowen

Slavoj Žižek has been called the «the most dangerous philosopher in the West» and a cultural theorist superstar, as he mixes Marxism with pop culture and psychoanalysis. Three decades after the fall of «Communism» in Eastern Europe, why does Žižek still call himself a communist?

The 2020 Holberg Week, 2 - 5 June

5 March will see the announcement of the 2020 Holberg Laureate and Nils Klim Lauerate. Celebrations in their honour will take place on 2 - 5 June in Bergen and Oslo.

Slavoj Žižek—Communist or Provocateur?

Slavoj Žižek is one of the world's best-known Marxists, who has frequently argued for replacing capitalism with another economic system. On 7 December, he is the keynote speaker at the 2019 Holberg Debate. Does the “most dangerous philosopher of the West” call himself a communist just to be provocative?