The Holberg Committee

The Holberg Committee consists of internationally renowned scholars in the academic fields covered by the Prize and is responsible for the scholarly assessment of the nominations for the Holberg Prize.

  • Heike Krieger portraitHeike Krieger (Acting Chair)
    Professor of Public Law and International Law, Freie Universität Berlin og Max Planck Fellow.
  • Ann Phoenix - portraitAnn Phoenix
    Professor of Psychosocial Studies, IOE-Social Research Institute, University College London

  • Jean Grondin PortraitJean Grondin
    Professor of Philosophy, Department of Philosophy, University of Montreal
  • Cui Zhiyuan portraitCui Zhiyuan (on leave 2023/2024)
    Professor, School of Public Policy and Management, Tsinghua University
  • David Nirenberg portrait UC David Nirenberg (on leave 2023/2024)
    Deborah R. and Edgar D. Jannotta Distinguished Service Professor of Medieval History and Social Thought, University of Chicago
  • Sari Hanafi_portrait Sari Hanafi (Deputy member 2023-2024), Professor of Sociology, American University of Beirut. President, International Sociological Association(2018-23).

  • Ryan Nefdt Ryan Nefdt (Deputy member 2023/2024), Associate Professor of Philosophy, Department of Philosophy, University of Cape Town

About the Committee

The Holberg Committee has two meetings between the nomination deadline and the announcement Ceremony. At the first meeting in early fall, they choose a shortlist from the nominations. Following the first meeting, referees with in-depth knowledge of the candidates are asked to write assessments on the candidates' scholarly work. In most cases the committee obtains 3-4 such assessments for each shortlist candidate to support their further deliberation. Suggestions for potential referees are part of the nominations.

The second Committee meeting is normally held in January/February. At this meeting the Holberg Committee decide on their recommendation for a prize winner. The Holberg Board appoints the Holberg Prize Laureate based on the committee's recommendation.

How members of the Holberg Committee are chosen

Members of the Holberg Committee is chosen by the board of the Holberg Prize. Committee members are elected for an initial period of three years, with the possibility of one additional period.

A procedure is established in which the Holberg Prize Secretariat invites academies ad leading research institutions internationally to nominate potential committee members. In addition to scholarly and institutional achievements, variation in geography and academic fields are also important criteria for the selection process.

Previous Members:

  • Graeme Turner (2015-2021)
  • Mary Beard (2015-2021)
  • Björn Wittrock (2014-2020)
  • Dame Hazel Genn (2014-2020)
  • Pratap Bhanu Mehta (2012 - 2018) 
  • Mary Jacobus (2009 - 2015)
  • Etan Kohlberg (2013 - 2015)
  • Helga Nowotny (2008 - 2014)
  • Kwame Anthony Appiah (2008 - 2014)
  • Christoph Markschies (2011 - 2013)
  • Henning Koch (2004 - 2009)
  • Toril Moi (2004 - 2009)
  • Turid Karlsen Seim (2004 - 2009)
  • Stein Kuhnle (2004 - 2007)
  • Johan P. Olsen (2004 - 2006)