Holberg Prize News

The Holberg Prize 2003-2023

For 20 years, the Holberg Prize has been celebrating outstanding research in the humanities, social sciences, law and theology. In this article former Chair of the Holberg Board, Sigmund Grønmo, takes a deep dive in the origin and history of the Holberg Prize.

The South Africa Conversations 2023

The South Africa Conversations 2023 will feature Holberg Laureate Sheila Jasanoff, Professor Achille Mbembe and other prominent scholars in a series of events taking place at WiSER, University of the Witwatersrand 1–3 November. All events will be streamed.

Meet the New Holberg Board Chair

Professor Jørgen Sejersted took on the position as Chair of the Holberg Prize Board on 1 July. 2023. What are his thoughts on the Prize and the road ahead?